Versions: Balsamic Chicken Adobo

I was rummaging through my ref on something I could whip up for dinner and found my slightly used balsamic vinegar. I was reserving this for my salad dressings, and since I haven’t bought any greens yet, I decided to put this to good use, this time to put a different twist to a classic Filipino dish: Adobo.

It was a lucky day for me too: I did not have to go to a grocery store to buy meat because there was a newly opened meat shop near where I live. Half a kilo of chicken was more than enough for one.

For me, adobo is the easiest and most practical dish to cook. You really do not need a ref for storage since it has vinegar as its main preservative, so you can just put it on a container and leave it to pair for tomorrow’s sinangag. It is simple, indeed; however, due to its simplicity, people tend to take it for granded. It is not like you can just dump everything in a pot and leave it to simmer until cook time. Even a simple dish has its own technicalities.

When I was a kid, before leaving for work, my mom would cook adobo and leave it for our lunch and dinner. I hated my mom’s adobo (if my mom would read this in the future, sorry mom, true story :p ), to be honest. The sauce was so thin that it looked more like soup than adobo. I had to cook it by frying the meat so I would get a pre-marinated pork of sorts, or re-heat it myself so the sauce would be thick. I knew I had to get that fat rendered properly to be able to enjoy “my” adobo experience.

Balsamic Chicken adobo, taken from my tumblr/Instagram

Balsamic Chicken Adobo (serves 2)
500 grams Chicken, adobo cut
3 tablespoons soy sauce
6 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup pineapple juice
3 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon olive or canola oil (for frying)
1 cup water
salt and pepper to taste
1 dried bay leaf

Instructions:

1. Pound 1 clove of garlic with the flat side of your knife and mix with chicken, soy sauce and vinegar. Marinade for 30 minutes to an hour. You can marinade it longer if you want.
2. After the chicken has been marinated, put a small pot or a kawali under medium heat. Place the oil and let it heat up for a bit.
3. Sliver remaining cloves and fry it until golden brown, set aside.
4. Drain your chicken (but reserve the marinade) and fry them on the oil for about 3-4 minutes each side.
5. Add the water and marinade to the pot along with the bay leaf. Increase the heat and cover the pot. Let it boil for about 15 minutes.
6. Remove the cover and reduce the heat to medium. Season with salt and pepper.
7. Let the sauce reduce to about 1/4 so it would be thick and yummy! πŸ˜€

Sprinkle fried garlic on top. Serve over rice. Enjoy! πŸ™‚

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Body, Cooking, Food, Versions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

